www.458socomforums.com

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

To help eliminate Spam please register on our new Forum if you have not done so already. We apologize for any inconvenience!

Author Topic: 300 AAC Blackout VS 300 Whisper  (Read 28536 times)

Ruel

• Demon Hell Pig
    • View Profile
300 AAC Blackout VS 300 Whisper
« on: February 16, 2011, 12:05:27 AM »

I've been looking into these two and I have been wondering if anyone has any opinions on them.  Both are intended for suppressed use.  300 Whisper has been around for awhile but it seems the 300 AAC BO has an easier time adapting to the AR platform.  I know the .338 Spectre is out there but from what I understand this is closer to a sub gun whereas the 300s are closer to a rifle.  Any thoughts experiences or suggestions concerning this rifle?  I have very little previous experience with suppressed systems and am looking into something to get into the game.  These two seem like they could be a fun time.  Here are some links about the rifles discussed.

300 AAC Blackout http://www.300aacblackout.com/

300 Whisper http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.300_Whisper
You. You... and you. Panic. Everybody else follow me.

DDriller

• View Profile
Re: 300 AAC Blackout VS 300 Whisper
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 08:59:34 AM »

They are basically the same.  Remington is factory loading for the 300blk in both sub and super sonic loads and from what I understand will be selling brass also.  If I was going to buy one for supersonic bullets I would go with the 7.62x40 that Wilson Combat is just getting started making.  It is pretty close to the 6.8 SPC in performance.

BTW, I went with the 338 Spectre for the win.   ;D  

GeneT

• View Profile
    • 50 BMG Site
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 09:37:58 AM »

I have a .300 Whisper, and I'd vote for the blackout if they actually get commercially available brass.